Reunions are the best parties

20140617-144656-53216218.jpgSo you’ve probably heard me mention them before, but my coworkers from my first job are basically my family. I began as an intern at Horizon Media a few years back and I’ve never lost touch with any of them. Horizon is a very, very special place, the largest independently owned media agency, and somewhere that’s really more than just a job. We still get together for drinks or Cards Against Humanity or just general revelry. Every single person on that team is an amazing and outstanding individual, with good hearts, dedication and respect for one another. I never call people out on my blog, but I want to say that Taylor Valentine (now Horizon’s SVP of Social) was truly the greatest and most inspiring person to have at the head of your team. He’s charismatic and driven and he has a vision that you’d be well inclined to adopt.

Recently, some of the coolest people in entire world who Horizon works with (Shout out to Henry, Seth and everyone also at ROI Influencer), threw one of my previous VP’s a surprise congratulations party for passing the BAR exam! He’s another incredibly kind, generous and brilliant person with more degrees than I can count (MBA and J.D.) and he’s a VIP. (Go Maikel!). Anyway the theme of this party was “Maikel passed the bar! so now he has to bar tend”, complete with gavels, robes, judges wigs and buttons to celebrate. Oh and a guest appearance by Kobayashi, the competitive eater.

 

Cue the ridiculousness that ensues with all of us together again and Maikel mixing drinks. He was surprised on the pool rooftop of the Trump SoHo and made me an absurdly strong vodka-sprite that was 95% vodka and from there we were off. I switched to champagne pretty immediately but it was still one of the greatest nights in recent memory. I smiled and laughed so much that night my face hurt, and I was thankful, once again, for whatever unseen force that thought fit to bring all these amazing people into my life.

20140617-144657-53217530.jpg

20140617-144656-53216697.jpg

20140617-145533-53733280.jpg

20140617-144658-53218439.jpg

 

20140617-145532-53732994.jpg

 

4 thoughts on “Reunions are the best parties

  1. how about “one of my not so old VPs”? 🙂 awesome hanging with you. thanks for joining and making the celebration special!

  2. Wow, superb blog layout! How long have you been blogging for?
    you made blogging look easy. The overall look of your web site is great, as well as the content!

Leave a comment